Branding

Professionals, businesses and companies all have brand logos, names etc. Since we are aiming to be these people, we need a brand. An icon, idea or image that identifies us. Something that really shouts ME!

First, we needed a tag-line or slogan. Something intuitive and original. I wanted to say something about myself. I strive to look beyond the norm and see things beyond what others see. For example when I watch a film, I don’t just passively view it. I engage, think about the story, plot, and characters and so on. I also wonder how and why things were done or made. A notable character, infamous in literature, is Sherlock Holmes. The way he thinks and acts is really a fictionist version of myself. He sees beyond the natural appearance of something. He imagines scenarios in his head. A quote of his I came across is “You see, but you do not observe. The distinction is clear”. This says exactly how I want people to know how I think.

I fancied the text to be in a typewriter font; and for the two simple sentences to be defined from each other. I formatted the text like this:

 

 Fight Club is a film where the audience never notices the teasers as to the true nature of the film, nor are they meant to. This represents The Narrators perspective of his situation. A scene in this film I particularly find interesting is where Tyler points out the cigarette burns on films (he explains why in the film). I have spotted these in the cinema before but nothing really clicked in my mind – was is there? What did it mean? Was I imagining it? I also like the way the characters break the fourth wall in this scene, speaking out to the audience and drawing them in so they feel more personal with the film.

 

Putting this image with the text would be my logo. I first inverted the text so it stood out on the dark background:

 

 I then de-saturated the picture and made it black and white as I felt the colour lost some of the denoted meaning. I then highly contrasted the black and white colours. I felt this really broke up the smoothness of the image and made the different objects in the picture really predominant. It also made it, in my opinion, a bit comic book like and I loved the effect it created.

Last was to add the text to the picture. I wanted it places subtly in the whole image so I put it in the bland bottom-right corner. I then faded it so it wasn’t as obvious and amorphous to the canvas.

This is my finished logo:


Leave a comment